Shopping Basket

0 Items $0.00

 0407 856 334
  • Monday - Friday:
    9.00am to 5.00pm
No Minimum
News & Offers

Be the first to receive news on our latest wines, tasting events, special offers and exclusive online deals.

Follow us:

The 1955 Official Classification of Saint-Émilion

The first classification of Saint-Émilion was created in 1955 and is the only classification of the right bank. Unlike the historic 1855 classification, it was set up to encourage wine growers to improve their quality and enhance the reputation of their wines by undergoing reviews approximately every 10 years.

The classification groups the best wines into two categories: Premier Grand Cru Classé and Grand Cru Classé, the Premier Grand Cru Classé is dived into Premier Grand Cru Classé ‘A’ and Premier Grand Cru Classé ‘B’.

Following the initial classification, the list was updated in 1969, 1986, 1996, 2006 and most recently in 2012. In the Initial 1955 list there were 12 Premier Grand Cru Classé and 63 Grand Cru Classé, whereas today, according to the newest reclassification of 2012, there are 63 Grands crus classes and 18 Premier grand crus classes. The 2012 changes are marked by *.

Premiers Grands Crus Classés - A

Château Angélus*       Château Cheval Blanc
Château Ausone Château Pavie*

Premiers Grands Crus Classés - B

Château Beau-Séjour Bécot Château La Gaffelière
Château Beauséjour (Duffau-Lagarrosse) Château Larcis-Ducasse*
Château Bélair-Monange Château Pavie-Macquin
Château Canon Château Troplong-Mondot
Château Canon-la-Gaffelière* Château Trottevieille
Château Figeac Château Valandraud*
Clos Fourtet  

Grands Crus Classés

Château L'Arrosée Château Les Grandes-Murailles
Château Balestard La Tonnelle Château Guadet
Château Barde-Huet* Château Haut Sarpe
Château Bellefont-Belcier Clos des Jacobins
Château Bellevue Couvent des Jacobins
Château Berliquet Château Jean Faure*
Château Cadet-Bon Château Laniote
Château Cap de Mourlin Château Larmande
Château Le Chatelet* Château Laroque
Château Chauvin Château Laroze
Château Clos de Sarpe* Clos La Madeleine*
Château La Clotte Château La Marzelle
Château La Commanderie* Château Monbousquet
Château Corbin Château Moulin du Cadet
Château Côte de Baleau* Clos de l'Oratoire
Château La Couspaude Château Pavie-Decesse
Château Dassault Château Péby-Faugères*
Château Destieux Château Petit Faurie de Soutard
Château La Dominique Château de Pressac*
Château Faugères* Château Le Prieuré
Château Faurie-de-Souchard Château Quinault L'Enclos*
Château de Ferrand* Château Ripeau
Château Fleur-Cardinale Château Rochebelle*
Château La Fleur Morange* Château St-Georges Côte-Pavie
Château Fombrauge* Clos St-Martin
Château Fonplégade Château Sansonnet*
Château Fonroque Château La Serre
Château Franc-Mayne Château Soutard
Château Grand-Corbin Château Tertre-Daugay
Château Grand-Corbin-Despagne Château La Tour Figeac
Château Grand-Mayne Château Villemaurine
Château Grand-Pontet Château Yon-Figeac
Château L'Arrosée Château Balestard La Tonnelle
Château Barde-Haut* Château Bellefont-Belcier
Château Bellevue Château Berliquet