Shopping Basket

0 Items $0.00

 0407 856 334
  • Monday - Friday:
    9.00am to 5.00pm
No Minimum

The 1959 Official Classification of Graves

With the exclusion of Haut-Brion, the historic classification of 1855 did not take into account the châteaux of what was then the Graves appellation. In 1987 the region within the Graves appellation containing all the Grand Cru Classed Chateaux, mostly in the north of Graves, was designated a superior appellation: "Pessac-Leognan".

The Classification of Graves was first listed unofficially in 1953, but the classification did not become official until the 1959 ranking, which was based essentially on the same criteria of reputation and selling price as the classification of 1855.

The single classification list is divided between red wines and white wines, which means that some châteaux are mentioned twice, once in each category.

The 1959 Official Classification of the GRAVES

Classified Red Wines of Graves Commune
Château Bouscaut (Cadaujac)
Château Haut-Bailly (Léognan)
Château Carbonnieux (Léognan)
Domaine de Chevalier (Léognan)
Château de Fieuzal (Léognan)
Château d'Olivier (Léognan)
Château Malartic-Lagravière (Léognan)
Château La Tour-Martillac (Martillac)
Château Smith-Haut-Lafitte (Martillac)
Château Haut-Brion (Pessac)
Château La Mission-Haut-Brion (Talence)
Château Pape-Clément (Pessac)
Château Latour-Haut-Brion (Talence)

Classified White Wines of Graves Commune
Château Bouscaut (Cadaujac)
Château Carbonnieux (Léognan)
Château Domaine de Chevalier (Léognan)
Château d'Olivier (Léognan)
Château Malartic Lagravière (Léognan)
Château La Tour-Martillac (Martillac)
Château Laville-Haut-Brion (Talence)
Château Couhins-Lurton (Villenave d'Ornan)
Château Couhins (Villenave d'Ornan)
Château Haut-Brion (Pessac) (added in 1960)