Shopping Basket

0 Items $0.00

 0407 856 334
  • Monday - Friday:
    9.00am to 5.00pm
No Minimum
News & Offers

Be the first to receive news on our latest wines, tasting events, special offers and exclusive online deals.

Follow us:

The Classifications

There is no single classification which provides an official ranking across all of the Bordeaux appellations. However, there are four different classifications, covering the Médoc, Sauternes and Barsac, Graves, and Saint-Emilion. Of note, although Chateau Petrus is often referred to as a First Growth (Premiers Crus) of the 1855 Classification Pomerol remains unclassified.

The four official classifications are as follows;

  1. The Official Classification of 1855
  2. The 1955 Official Classification of Saint-Émilion
  3. The 1959 Official Classification of Graves, initially classified in 1953 and revised in 1959.
  4. The Cru Bourgeois Classification.