Shopping Basket

0 Items $0.00

 0407 856 334
  • Monday - Friday:
    9.00am to 5.00pm
No Minimum
News & Offers

Be the first to receive news on our latest wines, tasting events, special offers and exclusive online deals.

Follow us:

The Cru Bourgeois Classification

The Cru Bourgeois classification has been controversial and undergone many changes in recent times however, it’s historic value and significance is important.

The initial Cru Bourgeois classification was created by the Bordeaux Chamber of Commerce and Chamber of Agriculture in 1932, selecting 444 Chateaux from the Medoc which were not included in the historic 1855 Classification of Crus Classes. In practice, the Cru Bourgeois classified Chateaux are a level below the famous Cru Classé, but still of exceptional quality.

A revision of the classification by the Alliance des Crus Bourgeois was created in 2003, with the addition of three levels of classification however, it was highly controversial and finally annulled by the French court in 2007, reverting back to the initial 1932 classification.

In 2010, the Cru Bourgeois system was reintroduced, but in a significantly revised form which adopts the initial 1932 classification of only one level however, it is now awarded annually, on the basis of an assessment of both production methods and the wine.

Click here for the Official Collection of 2010 Crus Bourgeois du Médoc Click here for the Official Collection of 2010 Crus Bourgeois du Médoc